The paved Pa’rus Trail bending past sagebrush and cottonwoods, with Zion’s sandstone cliffs behind it.
Pa’rus Trail, Zion National Park. Bikes are allowed here. Other trails are not. Photo by Vulturesong, CC0 1.0, via Wikimedia Commons. Not a paid stock photo.

Class 1 only

The NPS bicycling page, updated September 21, 2026 and re-read October 3, 2026, says only Class 1 pedal-assist e-bikes are allowed. A Class 1 e-bike has a motor that helps only while the rider is pedaling, and that help ceases at 20 miles per hour. The same page says the motor must supply less than 50 percent of the power and must not work unless the rider is pedaling. Bikes that exceed this limit are not allowed. This page does not list throttle bikes.

Class 1 e-bikes may go where regular bicycles go, and they follow the same rules. E-bikes are not allowed on park shuttle buses. The page says e-bikes will not fit the shuttle’s bike racks, so plan to ride the Zion Canyon Scenic Drive both ways. Regular bicycles can use the racks if you can lift them yourself. An e-bike cannot.

Where you can ride

Bicycling is permitted on the Pa’rus Trail and on park roadways, except the Zion–Mount Carmel Tunnel. All other trails and off-trail routes are closed to bikes. The page names the Pa’rus Trail, Zion Canyon Scenic Drive, the Zion–Mount Carmel Highway (not through the tunnel), Kolob Terrace Road, and Kolob Canyons Scenic Drive. Service roads are not open to visitors on bicycles.

Pa’rus begins at the Zion Canyon Visitor Center and runs to Canyon Junction. The page gives that distance as 1.75 miles. The speed limit on Pa’rus is 15 mph. It is shared with people walking and with leashed pets. Pedestrians have the right of way. Cyclists warn them before passing, out loud or with a bell or horn, and stop if the path is not clear. Ride single file on the right. Groups are limited to 6 bikes. Obey traffic signs, including stop signs. The side trail to the Human History Museum is not open to bicycles. Please walk the bike through the Visitor Center plaza.

The bicycle entrance the page describes is in Springdale, next to Zion Outfitter and the Zion Brew Pub, across a small bridge to the pedestrian entrance, then onto Pa’rus. Cyclists at that entrance pay the regular per-person fee. This page is not quoting a dollar amount. Use the park’s fees page, which the bicycling page points to.

The scenic drive, buses, and the tunnel

When a shuttle bus is behind a cyclist, the cyclist must pull over, come to a complete stop, and let the bus pass. Never pass a moving bus. The first 2 miles of Zion Canyon Scenic Drive are steep. Take your time, and pull off the road completely to stop. After Court of the Patriarchs the road becomes more level. Use extra care at Canyon Junction and Weeping Rock, where the page says sight is limited and the lanes are narrow. There is a significant southbound uphill between Weeping Rock and the Grotto.

Cyclists should wear a helmet at all times. Children under 18 are required to wear helmets. That requirement is in the scenic-drive section of the same page.

Bikes cannot ride through the Zion–Mount Carmel Tunnel. The page says the tunnel is about 1.1 miles, narrow, unlit, and dark in places. A cyclist who needs to get through has to get a ride in a vehicle. Rangers are not allowed to transport cyclists or arrange that ride.

The Zion Canyon Scenic Drive winding along the canyon floor below tall sandstone walls.
Zion Canyon Scenic Drive, Zion National Park. Photo: Ken Lund, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Rentals are in town, not here

The bicycling page does not say the park rents bikes. This site does not rent them either. A shop page opened October 3, 2026: Zion Cycles, 868 Zion Park Blvd., Springdale, UT 84767, lists a pedal-assist canyon e-bike (Trek Verve +3 and Trek Allant +8) at $25 an hour or $80 for a full day, marked on that page as a summer sale. The page calls it pedal-assist. It does not state the speed where the assist stops. Confirm you are getting a Class 1 bike, assist off at 20 mph, before you ride it in the park. A bike that assists past that is not allowed, whatever the shop calls it. Those prices are the shop’s, seen that day, and can change. We are not the shop, and we do not guide the ride.

St. George and Ivins are the towns the Snow Canyon FAQ names for bike rentals, not inside Zion. Red Rock Bicycle Co. lists a St. George shop at 446 W. 100 S. on its rentals page. No price was visible there on October 3, 2026. Rampage Rental and Repair lists e-bike rentals in Ivins at 1195 E Snow Canyon Pkwy and in St. George at 1479 George Washington Blvd, on its Snow Canyon rental page. That page did not state a class or a price. Search locally if you want a different shop.

Snow Canyon allows e-bikes on more trails

Snow Canyon State Park’s FAQ says e-bikes are allowed, posted speed limits apply, and the park itself does not rent bikes. It names Snow Canyon Drive, the paved Whiptail trail, and West Canyon in the main canyon, plus Paradise Canyon trails except the interior of the Gila trail. That page is snowcanyontours.com/ebikes.html. This page is ebikes.html. Pets on Pa’rus are covered on dogs.html.